A Productive Day of an Engineering Student

What happens if you think every day is an opportunity to grow.

Hey there, Just want to inform all the readers one thing, not every day is perfect and productive, and neither it can be because then productive days will lose their value. The thing that is important is that you give your best each and every day and try to get 1% better every day which will lead to you achieving your goals in the long run.

The day I am gonna describe will sound a lot boastful but remember everyone lives a different life and you have your own time in your own hands and it is up to you what you wanna do with that time. So take inspiration and start the hustle.

Every day can't be perfect but in the future, you will thank yourself for not getting demotivated by those unproductive or depressing days.

Morning (College classes time)

So being a college student, the morning is the hardest part for me. I usually wake up at 9 to 10 AM. I know it is good to get a head start but u might understand why I wake up this late usually. But in college days be it offline or online classes I gotta get up at 7:30 AM at least but I wake up at 8:00 AM go for a quick bathroom, brush and, then it is to the chair. The thing is my classes start at 8:10 AM regularly but I do not pay much attention to my classes as I will always be listening to the classes but not focusing fully. This is only the case for the subjects that are mandatory in my college and I do not like them. During these classes, I have made the routine since a few days ago to plan the day ahead of me. I have a notepad in which I write down all my tasks and goals for the day not in a to-do form but rather in a journal format. I have some tea and biscuits when I wake up and then I either listen to my class or open up some blog to read, social media, development project, youtube video, or such. Most of the time it is a development project. Then it is breakfast time and that is at 11:30 AM yeah a bit too late, but it is when I wake up. I know it seems like I am a person who does not value college studies but being in this college for the past 1.5 years I have learned that you just need attendance + 1 week before the exam to study to manage your GPA. And also in online mode, the side-by-side development lets me give like 8 hrs of college time to a continuous stream of working on a project or learning something, as I can not get up from that seat because my mom is always around the corner watching me.

Afternoon (After Classes)

Usually, I have classes till 2:50 PM but sometimes till 3:40 PM, and yup the elective subjects hurt as till that time I am very sleepy but 1 cup of coffee can do wonders. I grab a cup of coffee have a little lunch and head to the seat again. I absolutely hate the idea of a cubicle but it has appeared to me that currently I am sitting in one, but this is by my choice. That is a very different topic for some other day. So this is the time I start on the tasks for the day but before that, I do not know why but my body compels me to have a walk in the parking area of my building. I walk for 15 to 20 mins stretching out my body and also getting my head in sync with what is going on. During this time I am mostly in the state of "what the actual f* is going on in my life". I introspect during this time to get my head back into the game after the boring time during the morning. Then is time to get to the tasks I wrote down in the morning. First I complete my internship tasks, then it is followed up with personal projects or learning something new. And suddenly it is 5 PM. I believe that once I get into the zone where there are no distractions that take only 20 to 30 mins of ice-breaking work which is the hardest then I do not care about how many hours are gone by. I just want to get the work done. This is the part of the day when I get most of the work done**.

Time goes so fast when you are doing something you love and I love development currently.

A beautiful saying goes like

Start today, you might not succeed tomorrow but you will succeed the day after tomorrow, most people quit tomorrow evening. This gives me the motivation to never quit because U do not know when a miracle can happen

Evening (Workout and Outing)

At 5:30 I get out of my comfortable cubicle and head out for a workout. I do not go to a gym because gyms in my area are too costly. But I believe I am so fortunate that I live only 15 mins away from Deer Park. It is a very big park in Dehli, India. I go there daily for a jog. And, it even has an open gym where I can do some weight lifts. So I like it very much there. I usually blast music in my headphones and walk/jog around and do some weight lifts in the gym. When I do not go to the park I do skipping and dumbell lifting at home.

Night

So this is the reason I wake up late in the morning. I come back at 7 to 7:30 PM from the park and have some tea. Then I watch some youtube videos or talk to a friend or two(rarely). At 9 PM I have dinner and by 10 PM I am back at work. The routine was hard to maintain at the start, but with discipline and consistency, I have managed to normalized this routine in just 20 days since the new year. So those are 2 key factors to maintaining any habit. Now, this is the time where I have a choice, either to binge-watch anime or a movie or do some studying and it entirely depends on the mood but on productive days U will find me studying. That is the only reason we call it a productive day right? So at this time I usually watch some tutorials and videos about new skills I wish to learn or write blogs and posts for my social media and make some projects of my own. Most of this time is consumed in surfing the net for new things to learn or do. This keeps me up to date. Currently, I am focusing on Machine learning and python and usually watch tutorials by codedamn or by freecodecamp.org both of which are awesome youtube channels. And I end the day at 2 AM which technically is the next day but that is when I get truly tired and gotta go to sleep.

So that has been what I have learned in how to maintain my days and be productive while doing whatever I want to do with college. Now I appreciate it if you have read till this far and I would like to have a chat so anytime you want to talk you can get my contact from personal-portfolio I would be glad to hear about your experiences and learn from you. Also, one thing you want to take away from this article then remember this:

There are 24 hrs in a day which means 6 hrs of sleep, 7 hrs of self-time, and 7 hrs of relentless grind for achieving your goals.

Regards, Shivam Bhasin